Meeting Register Page

I.C.E. Public Member Networking Call
Attend the March 2023 Public Member Networking Call to hear from Tom Granatir, the 2022 Ben Shimberg Award winner.

Ben Shimberg was an inspiration to a generation of consumer advocates because of his commitment to making credentialing and regulatory institutions accountable to the public. Ben believed appointing well-chosen public members, orienting them to their role, and supplying them with resources would serve that end. I.C.E. (then NOCA) gave Ben its Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000.

Ben was the first chair of the Citizen Advocacy Center’s Board of Directors until his death, when CAC established in his memory the Benjamin Shimberg Public Service Award to honor individuals whose careers and contributions exemplify the principles Ben stood for. It is no surprise that several ICE leaders have received the award, including Denise Roosendaal in 2018.

Since 2004, CAC has presented the Shimberg Award at its annual meeting, an event CAC discontinued in 2020. Not wanting the award in Ben’s memory to fade away, I.C.E. welcomed the opportunity to present the Ben Shimberg award at its annual Exchange. Shimberg Award recipients deliver a brief lecture on the occasion. This will occur at the I.C.E. Public Member Network Zoom meeting on March 14, 2023. The event is open to all.

The 2022 Ben Shimberg Public Service Award recipient is Tom Granatir, VP for Policy and External Relations at the American Board of Medical Specialties. Responsible for policy, advocacy, and public affairs, Tom interacts with the full spectrum of the organization’s stakeholders, including consumer advocates and public members. Tom is honored with this award “For his career-long commitment to advancing public health, his appreciation for the importance of having the consumer’s voice at the table, and his encouragement of public members in governance and policy making.”

Mar 14, 2023 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Meeting is over, you can not register now. If you have any questions, please contact Meeting host: I.C.E. Staff.